Hvordan beregne avkastningen på din Content Marketing? Her er 10 formler!

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MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

The Content FormulaCalculate the ROI of Content Marketing & Never Waste Money Again

Michael BrennerCEO, Marketing Insider Group@BrennerMichael

@BrennerMichael

@BrennerMichael

Life is short

@BrennerMichael

Life is short

Your business “life” is even shorter

@BrennerMichael

Life is short

Your business “life” is even shorter

Do stuff that matters

Make an impact!

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

What’s The ROI ofContent Marketing?

Calculation OR Defense Mechanism

@BrennerMichael

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

Content Marketing programs

are assets with real value that grows over time.

Need proof . . .

MARKETING INSIDER GROUPSep-14 Oct-14 Nov-14 Dec-14 Jan-15 Feb-15 Mar-15 Apr-15 May-15 Jun-150

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100,000

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COMPOUNDING RETURN OF CONTENT MARKETING #

Art

icle

s

Page

view

s

Marketing Has A Marketing Problem

@BrennerMichael

What is the ROI?

@BrennerMichael @LizBedor

The First Banner Ad (1994)

@BrennerMichael

@BrennerMichael

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

Less likely to click on a banner than…

@BrennerMichael

Content marketing trends

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

60-70% of marketing contentgoes completely unused.

*Sirius Decisions

@BrennerMichael

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

Behind every piece of bad content is an executive who asked for it.

@BrennerMichael

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

The ones who are crazy enough to think that they can change the world

are the ones who do.

Steve Jobs@BrennerMichael

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

We need to push back

@BrennerMichael

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

The Art of Pushing Back

Why does this matter?

What is the impact?

How will it be measured?

@BrennerMichael

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

Content Marketing Requires Empathy

ContentMarketing

What Brands Publish

WhatCustomers

Want

Business Instinct CharityEmpathy@BrennerMichael

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP@BrennerMichael

MARKETING INSIDER GROUPhttp://marketinginsidergroup.com/content-marketing/best-content-marketing-hub-examples/

The Difference Between “Content” and “Content Marketing” is the Destination

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

Content Marketing is EASY!

“The Buyer Journey is nothing more than a series of questions that must be answered.”

~ IDC

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

WARNING: Maturity Audiences Only!

Publish content to primary channel

Distribute content to earned media

Distribute content to paid media

Measure ROI of content marketing

Optimize and target distribution

Optimize for subscriptions & offers

“The Buyer Journey is nothing more than a series of questions that must be answered.”

~ IDC

Documented content marketing strategy

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

WARNING!

Math ahead! @BrennerMichael

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

PART ONE

/ Build The Business Case

BUILD THE BUSINESS CASE FIND THE BUDGET MEASURE RESULTS

1

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

How Do You Sell Empathy To

Executives Who Don’t Have Any?

@BrennerMichael

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

Reach early stage buyers

Engage new buyers with your

brand

Conversions you would have never

reached

= $

Build The Business Case

@BrennerMichael

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

2011: SAP launches major new product

Marketing Budgets

Marketing Contribution

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

Cluster Brand? Total Monthly Searches (est.)

Analytics Brand 458 30,000 XAnalytics Non-Brand 1,520,761Cloud Brand 398 10,000 XCloud Non-Brand 578,460Big Data Brand 28,884 218 XBig Data Non-Brand 470,967Mobility Brand 12,488 28 XMobility Non-Brand 345,598CRM/Sales Brand 156,028 40 XCRM/Sales Non-Brand 6,313,329Accounting. Finance Brand 30,497 24 XAccounting. Finance Non-Brand 720,493TOTAL Brand 1,688,883 130 XTOTAL Non-Brand 130,616,715

Tried To Push Back With Data

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

Our Website: Talking To Ourselves

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

16800045000

48000

3400 228

Digital Share of Voice

– Brand OnlyComp #1Comp #4Comp #5

25

18

15

23

20

Market Share

Comp #1Comp #4Comp #5Comp #2Client #3

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

Late-Stage Content

66%Early-Stage Content

6%

Middle-Stage Content

28%

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

The Math Didn’t Help

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The Power of Fear

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MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

IMAGINE: We show up first in Google

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IMAGINE: We own the categorywww.makeup.com -- (owned by L’Oreal)

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IMAGINE: We own the target audiencewww.CMO.com -- owned by Adobe

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IMAGINE: Marketing that attracts new buyersAMEX OPEN Forum is the largest source of new leads for AMEX’s Small Business Division

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BUT: We had no budget

Engagement?99% Bounce Rate

How Much COST?$200,000

Search Traffic?0, None, Nada, ZipSocial Shares?Also ZERO

Conversions?“This is an awareness campaign”

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

SAP Digitalist Magazine

To help executives understand how technology drives business innovation.

Engagement?70%

How Much COST?$100,000Half the ad budget

Search Traffic?50%Social Shares?10%

Conversions?~1,000 in year 1

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP4/8/12

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0

5,000

10,000

15,000

20,000

25,000

30,000

35,000

Traffic from Organic, Social & Referrals

Organic Social SAP Owned Referrals

Reach and Engagement We Would Have Never Seen

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

Reach, Engagement and Conversions We Would Have Never Seen

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

How Much Early-Stage Search Traffic Comes To Your Website?

@BrennerMichael

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

Early-stage Searches

Middle-stage

Brand Searches

Search / Social Volum

e

What is Content Marketing?(10-3000 X)

How do I succeed with Content Marketing?

(2-10 X)

What tools can help me with

content marketing?

(1)

How Much Early-Stage Search Traffic Is There?

@BrennerMichael

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

CONTENT MARKETING

Your DestinationBlogsNews InfographicsSocial Content

VideoWhitepapersWebinarsEventsNewsletters How-To GuidesCustomer Profiles

PRODUCT MARKETING

Product contentOffers

BrochuresCustomer Testimonials

Case studiesAds

CONSIDERATION

AWARENESS

DECISION

Reach, Engage and Convert Buyers You We Would Have Never Seen

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

PART TWO

/ Find The Budget

BUILD THE BUSINESS CASE FIND THE BUDGET MEASURE RESULTS

2

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Marketers Buy Tactics

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

Content Used30%

Content Not Used70%

Content Waste is a $100 Billion Opportunity*

* Source: Econsultancy

= $@BrennerMichael

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

What Do You Spend On Paid Search Because You Don’t Rank Organically?

30%70%

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

What Do You Spend On Paid Search Because You Don’t Rank Organically?

=$

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

The average click-through rate of display ads is 0.1%. (DoubleClick)

.1%8% Only 8% of internet users account for 85% of

clicks on display ads (and some aren’t even humans!)(comScore)

50%About 50% of clicks on mobile ads are accidental(GoldSpot)

Reallocate Budget From Low Performing Marketing Programs (Advertising?)

@BrennerMichael

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

Run CRM ROI Report. Rank Low to High

=$@BrennerMichael

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

Advertising Partnership Can Fund Content Marketing

Saved / invested in content marketing platform

$100,000 / $100,000

Reach, Engagement and LEADS SAP would have never seen.

1,000,000 Organic Visitors10,000 Subscribers1,000 Leads

@BrennerMichael

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

How To Do Content Marketing Without A Budget?

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

What is “Guerilla” Marketing?

Re-Purpose•Executive PowerPoints

•Whitepapers

•Customer Service and Sales FAQs

•Your emails = answers

How To Do Content Marketing Without A Budget?

@BrennerMichael

OPP (OPC)•Act as a journalists at events

•Cover competitor and industry research

•Ask 2nd-tier influencers to share their work

How To Do Content Marketing Without A Budget?

@BrennerMichael

Create Stuff Easy

• Create a list of top influencers • best conferences • best quotes • best stats in your industry

• Extract the expertise inside your company• What is…• Why important...• How to achieve success with ...

How To Do Content Marketing Without A Budget?

@BrennerMichael

Keywordtooldominator.comUbersuggest.ioKeywordtool.io

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

PART THREE

/ MeasureResults

BUILD THE BUSINESS CASE FIND THE BUDGET MEASURE RESULTS

3

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

How Do You Sell Empathy To

Executives Who Don’t Have Any?

@BrennerMichael

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

Paid vs. Organic Search Traffic

REACH

Organic Search Share of Voice

Unbranded Search Traffic

LEADS

CONVERT

OTHER CONVERSIONS

SUBSCRIBERS

Time on Site

ENGAGE

Social shares

Subscriptions

Bounce rate

Retention Rate

Upsells

RETAIN

Measure The Business Value of Content Marketing

@BrennerMichael

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

Content Marketing ROI – Reach / Awareness

The Value of Organic Search = (Paid Search CPC X Organic Search Traffic)

The Value of Unbranded Search Traffic = (Paid Search CPC X Unbranded Search Traffic)

@BrennerMichael

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

Content Marketing ROI – Reach / Awareness

The Value of Organic Search = ($2 X 500,000) = $1 Million

The Value of Unbranded Search Traffic = ($2 X 420,000) = $840,000

@BrennerMichael

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

Lyly Lepinay – Former Group Digital Content Marketing Manager, Capgemini

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

CapGemini Content-Loop.com• LinkedIn Sponsored updates

• Drives to branded Content Hub

• Offers to deeper content

• Recommendations to connect with experts

Results:~1M visitors / year+ 3K new LinkedIn followers per week+ High Quality Leads+ Sales / ROI

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

Content Marketing ROI – Brand Engagement

@BrennerMichael

The Value of Subscribers= (Sales from Email Nurture / List Size)

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

Casper’s Van Winkles• Effortlessly combines

national housing news with articles on inspirational interior design, celebrity homes and company updates.

• Up to 6 new posts per day

• Distribution and large audiences across Facebook, Pinterest, Instagram, Twitter and Google+

Casper’s Van Winkles

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

Paid vs. Organic Search Traffic

REACH

Organic Search Share of Voice

Unbranded Search Traffic

LEADS

CONVERT

OTHER CONVERSIONS

SUBSCRIBERS

Time on Site

ENGAGE

Social shares

Subscriptions

Bounce rate

Retention Rate

Upsells

RETAIN

The Power of Subscriptions

@BrennerMichael

Subscribers are 9x more likely to convert

than non-subscribers

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

Content Marketing ROI – Brand Engagement

The Value of Subscribers= (Sales from Email Nurture / List Size)

$10 Million / 400,000 = $25

10,000 subscribers x 25 = $250,000

@BrennerMichael

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

Content Marketing ROI - ConversionThe Value of Content Marketing Leads =

(Content Marketing Leads * Conversion Rate X Avg. Sale Price)

Content Marketing Direct $ales

@BrennerMichael

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

Content Marketing ROI - ConversionThe Value of Content Marketing Leads =

(Content Marketing Leads * Conversion Rate X Avg. Sale Price)1,000 leads x 3% MQL x 50% SAL x 50% SQL x 40% closed x $180,000$540,000

Content Marketing Direct $ales3 e-store visits / week x $400 x 52 = $21,000

@BrennerMichael

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

Content Marketing ROI - Retention

The Value of Retention= Lifetime Value Content Customer vs. Non-Content Customers

Retention Rate vs. Non-Content Customers

Revenue per Content Customer vs. Non-Content Customers

@BrennerMichael

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

Lifetime Value:Content consumers spend more and are more loyal customers.

Shane JordanDigital Marketing ManagerBlue Cross BlueShield of Alabama

MARKETING INSIDER GROUPShow me the money!

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

Content Marketing ROI$100,000 saved in advertising landing page costs$1 Million in search traffic$250,000 in email list growth$540,000 in lead conversion to sales$21,000 in direct e-store sales?? Click to call / chat-------------$1,911,000 in Value /Investment= $100,000

19X ROI

@BrennerMichael

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

SAP Digitalist Mag Gets More Engagement Than Fortune, Fast Company and more…

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MARKETING INSIDER GROUPBUILD THE BUSINESS CASE FIND THE BUDGET MEASURE RESULTS

My Free Gift To You: http://bit.ly/content-formula

MARKETING INSIDER GROUP

Thank you!Michael BrennerCEO, Marketing Insider Group@BrennerMichael

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