Republic of China - Three Principles of the People

Embed Size (px)


Text of Republic of China - Three Principles of the People

  • 1.

2. The Three Principles of the People is a political philosophy developed by SunYat-sen in the 1890s, consisting of nationalism , democracy , and peoples welfare .They were announced in a speech in Brussels in 1905 and appear in the ROC national anthem. 3. The rst principle, , is often translated as nationalism, populism, or peoples rule, meaning unity of the Chinese people and freedom from imperialism. It is unclear whether he intended to encompass just the Han, or other ethnicities as well. 4. The second principle, , is translated as democracy or peoples power. Sun intended this to mean a western democratic constitutional government.This ideal was divided into two powers: the power of politics is the power of the people to express their wishes by election , recall , initiative and referendum the power of governance will be covered in more detail in the next multimedia level 5. The third principle, , is translated as the peoples welfare, peoples livelihood, or government for the people.This is divided into 4 areas: clothing, food, housing and transportation. 6. The meaning of the principles is a large point of contention between the two Chinese governments. is the main point of agreement; has been completely ignored by the PRC, and the democratic ideal was ignored by the ROC under martial law, but is almost fully implemented by the current ROC government on Taiwan; has been interpreted by the PRC as Suns support for communism, but is also implemented in the ROCs modern welfare system. 7. In the next level, you can learn the Chinese names for the Three Principles of the People, as well as the other principles covered in this presentation.